Alwoodley Golf Club

Leeds, Yorkshire 
Par: 72   Length: 6,673 yd

8th Hole

Par: 5   Length: 537 yd

Visit Site

Mackenzie medallion

An annual UK competition called "The MacKenzie Medallion Tournament" is hosted by a member club of The Alister MacKenzie Society of Great Britain and Ireland. This was started at Alwoodley in 1999 and has been hosted annually by Members of The MacKenzie Society

All Clubs which are members of the The MacKenzie Society are entitled and encouraged to participate in the tournament.


The 2016 Medallion was held at Crowborough Beacon Golf Club on Sunday 10 September 2016. Conditions were calm and sunny which allowed this challenging course to be shown at its best. The organisation for the day was excellent, as was the catering, and our compliments and thanks must go to the Club and to the Club Manager, John Holmes. The home team were the winners with Hadley Wood Golf Club in second place. The best individual score was 39 points by N Daniels of Walsall Golf Club.

The 2017 Medallion to be played at Nelson Golf Club was cancelled due to bad weather and adverse course conditions


2018 Sunday September 9th hosted by Crosland Heath Golf Club, West Yorkshire.

Previous MEDALLION Winners

  • 1999 Sand Moor at Alwoodley
  • 2000 Bingley St Ives at Cavendish
  • 2001 Sand Moor at Bingley St Ives
  • 2002 South Leeds at Reddish Vale
  • 2003 Sand Moor at Sand Moor
  • 2004 Walsall  at Walsall
  • 2005 Headingley at Teignmouth
  • 2006 Hadley Wood at Hadley Wood
  • 2007 South Moor at Alwoodley
  • 2008 Alwoodley at Darlington
  • 2009 Hadley Wood at Headingley
  • 2010 Sutton Coldfield at Sutton Coldfield
  • 2011 Weston super Mare at Weston super Mare
  • 2012 Walsall at Reddish Vale
  • 2013 Garforth at Garforth
  • 2014 Hazel Grove at Oakdale
  • 2015 Horsforth at Leeds
  • 2016 Crowborough Beacon Golf Club
  • 2017 Event cancelled